The Renaissance Man is one who learns many things, continually. Unfortunately this image linked to the phrase does not come in female form…

The Oxford English Dictionary defines a profession thus:

An occupation in which a professed knowledge of some subject, field or science is applied;

A vocation or career, especially one that involves prolonged training and a formal qualification;

In the last fifteen years, I have had training in teaching, behaviour management, psychology, nursing, medical research, food science and dietetics, special needs education, negotiation and advocacy, to name but a few areas of my professed subject, or field.

There is no formal qualification available to my vocation, my career, and I am not paid.

But make no mistake, I am utterly, absolutely a professional.

And you need me on your team.

